Regional Organizations

The concept of Regional Organizations mainly originated after the end of second world war. Regional organizations are a parts of Supranational/Global Governance.


Association of South East Asian Nations

Member States: 10 (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam)

Founded: August 8, 1967, Thailand

Headquarter: Jakarta, Indonesia


Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation

Member States: 7 (Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand)

Founded: June 6, 1997, Bangkok Thailand

Headquarter: Dhaka, Bangladesh


Shanghai Cooperation Organization

Member States: 8 (China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, India, Pakistan, Kazakhstan)

4 observer states: Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, Mongolia

6 dialogue partners: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Turkey

4 guest attendances: Association of Southeast Asian Nations, Commonwealth of Independent States, Turkmenistan, United Nations

Founded:19 September 2003 (Shanghai Five group, founded on 26 April 1996), Shanghai China

Headquarter: Shanghai China


South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation

Member States: 8 (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka)

Founded: December 8, 1985, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Headquarter: Kathmandu, Nepal


Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries

Member States: 12 (Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Venezuela, Libya, Nigeria, Iraq, United Arab Emirates, Algeria, Kuwait, Angola, Gabon)

Founded:  September 1960, Baghdad, Iraq

Headquarter: Vienna, Austria (Other than member state*)


European Union

Member States: 27 (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden)

Founded: November 1, 1993, Maastricht, Netherlands

Founders: Germany, France, Italy, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg

Headquarter: Brussels, Belgium

Colombo Plan

Colombo Plan for Cooperative Economic and Social Development in Asia and the Pacific

Member States: Regional organization of 27 countries

Founded: By Great Britain in Colombo, Ceylon, in 28 November 1950

Headquarter: Colombo, Sri Lanka

Also Read: 
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url

Subscribe Our YouTube Channel