Loksewa Notes on Nobel Prize

Notes on Nobel Prize Facts:
  • Peace Prize (first black): Ralph Bunche (American), 1950. (Officer Exam 2070)
  • First Nobel Prize Distribution: 1901
  • 2 Peace Prizes have been shared
  • The youngest Nobel Peace Prize (2014) Malala Yousafzai (17 years)
  • The oldest Nobel Peace Prize (1995): Joseph Rotblat  (87 years)
  • Peace Prize: 17 Women
  • First women (Peace, 1905) – Bertha von Suttner
  • ICRC: Peace 1917, 1944, 1963
  • UNHCR: Peace 1954, 1981
  • Linus Pauling: Chemistry 1954, Peace 1962
  • First Women Marie Curie (1903 Physics, 1911 Chemistry)
  • First Asian: Rabindranath Tagore (Literature 1913)

Under arrest

German pacifist and journalist Carl von Ossietzky
Burmese politician 
Aung San Suu Kyu
Chinese human rights activist Liu Xiaobo


Dag Hammarskjöld (Peace 1961)
Erik Axel Karlfeldt (Literature 1931)

  • UK former PM Winston Churchill (Literature 1953 but nominated for both Peace & Literature)
  • Norwegian Nobel Committee: Peace Prize 
  • Other Prizes: Swedish Academy of Sciences
  • All are from 1901, Prize in Economic Sciences: 1969

Nominated but not awarded (Most Popular)

Joseph Stalin (Peace 1945 and 1948)
Mahatma Gandhi (Peace 1937, 1938, 1939, 1947 and, finally, shortly before he was assassinated in January 1948, NNC decided to make no award that year on the grounds that “there was no suitable living candidate”
Adolf Hitler (Peace 1939)
  • The Nobel Peace Prize medal: Designed by Gustav Vigeland (Norwegian Sculptor)
  • Swedish kronor (SEK) 9.0 million per full Nobel Prize (2018)
  • Nobel Family: Marie Curie & Pierre Curie (Physics 1903), Frédéric Joliot &  Irène Joliot Curie (Chemistry 1935)


  • Youngest (Physics 1915): Lawrence Bragg (25 years) with Father William Bragg
  • Oldest (Physics 2018): Arthur Ashkin (96 years)
  • Women (Physics 1903): Marie Curie (3 Women)
Father & Son:
  • Niels Bohr (Physics 1922) & Aage N. Bohr (Physics 1975)
  • J. J. Thomson (Physics 1906) & George Paget Thomson (Physics 1937)
  • Manne Siegbahn (Physics 1924) & Kai M. Siegbahn (Physics 1981)
Nobel medal for Physics, Chemistry, Physiology & Medicine, Literature: Erik Lindberg (Swedish)


  • Youngest (Chemistry 1935): Frédéric Joliot (35 years)
  • Oldest (Chemistry 2002): John B. Fenn (85 years)
  • Female (Chem 1911): Marie Curie (2nd: Irène Joliot-Curie: Daughter) (5 women)
  • Frederick Sanger: (Chemistry 1958, Chemistry 1980

Physiology or Medicine

  • Youngest (Physiology or Medicine 1923): Frederick G. Banting (32 years)
  • Oldest (Physiology or Medicine 1966): Peyton Rous (87 years)
  • Female (Physiology or Medicine 1947): Gerty Cori (with Husband Carl Cori) (12 Women)
  • Only one woman received an unshared Nobel: Barabara McClintock (Medicine 1983)

Father & son:

  • Hans von Euler-Chelpin (Chemistry Prize) and Ulf von Euler (Medicine Prize)
  • Arthur Kornberg (Medicine Prize) and Roger D. Kornberg (Chemistry Prize)


  • Jan Tinbergen (Economics Prize) and Nikolaas Tinbergen (Medicine Prize)


  • Youngest (Literature 1907: The Jungle Book) Rudyard Kipling (41 years)
  • Oldest (Literature 2007): Doris Lessing (88 years)
  • Female (Literature 1909): Selma Lagerlöf (14 Women)
  • 25 languages literature are sorted till date


  • Oldest (Peace 1995):  Joseph Rotblat (87 years)
  • Female (Peace 1905): Bertha von Suttner (17 Females)
  •  Statesmen and national leaders who were nominated but not awarded the Nobel Peace Prize:
  • Czechoslovakia: Thomas G. Masaryk, Edvard Benes,
  • Great Britain: Neville Chamberlain, Anthony Eden, Clement Attlee, Ramsay MacDonald, Winston Churchill
  • USA: the presidents William Howard Taft, Warren G. Harding, Herbert Hoover, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Harry S. Truman & Dwight D. Eisenhower; the foreign ministers Charles Hughes, John Foster Dulles
  • France: Pierre Mendès-France
  • Western Germany: Konrad Adenauer
  • Argentina: Juan and Eva Peron
  • India: Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru
  • Finland: Juho Kusti Paasikivi
  • Italy: Benito Mussolini


  • Youngest (Economics 1972): Kenneth J. Arrow (51 years)
  • Oldest (Economics 2007): Leonid Hurwicz (90 years)
  • Female (Economics 2009): Elinor Ostrom (Only one)
  • Gunnar Myrdal (Economics 1974) and Alva Myrdal (Peace 1982)
  • Medal for the Prize in Economic Sciences: Gunvor Svensson-Lundqvist

2018 Nobel Prize:

Physics: AskMoSt

Arthur Ashkin, USA (optical tweezers and their application to biological systems)
Gérard Mourou, France (method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses)
Donna Strickland, Canada (high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses)

Chemistry: ArWiSm

Frances H. Arnold, USA (directed evolution of enzymes)
Sir Gregory P. Winter, UK (phage display of peptides and antibodies)
George P. Smith, USA (phage display of peptides and antibodies)

Physiology & Medicine: AllHon

James P. Allison, USA (cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation)
Tasuku Honjo, Japan (cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation)


Denis Mukwege, DR Congo (sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict)
Nadia Murad, Iraq (sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict)

Economic Science: NoRo

William D. Nordhaus, USA (integrating climate change into the long-run macroeconomic analysis)
Paul M. Romer, USA (integrating technological innovations into the long-run macroeconomic analysis)
*All data is taken from the Nobel Prize website
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url

Subscribe Our YouTube Channel