UNO, Specialized Agencies and Principal Organs

United Nations Organization (UNO)

Established on October 24, 1945. It has 15 Specialized Agencies (Autonomous Organizations working with the UNO) and Six Principal Organ.

15 Specialized Agencies: 

United Nations, Their Specialized Agencies and Principal Organs
Specialized Agencies may or may not have been originally created by United Nations, but they are incorporated into the United Nations System by United Nations Economic and Social Council acting under the articles 57 and 63 of the United Nations Charter.  
    1. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO): 1945, Rome Italy; 191 member states (the largest of the UN Agencies)
    2. International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO): 4 April 1947, Montreal Quebec Canada; 191 member states
    3. International Fund for Agriculture Development (IFAD): 1977, Rome Italy; 168 member states
    4. International Labour Organization (ILO): 1919, Geneva Switzerland: 185 member states; Nobel Peace Prize in 1969
    5. International Maritime Organization (IMO): 1948, London UK, 
    6. International Monetary Organization (IMF): Washinton DC, USA
    7. International Telecommunication Organization (ITU): 17 May 1965, Geneva Switzerland
    8. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO): 1946, Paris France; 195 member states. Note: Three member states Cook Island, Niue and Palestine are not UN member states while a UN member Liechtenstein is not a UNESCO member state. Kosovo was approved for membership by UNESCO's executive board in 2015 but didn't receive required 2/3 of votes in favor at the general conference.  
    9. United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO): Vienna Austria
    10. Universal Postal Union (UPU): Berne Switzerland
    11. World Bank Group (WBG): International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), International Finance Corporation (IFC), International Development Association (IDA): Washinton DC, USA 
    12. World Health Organization (WHO): 7 April 1948, Geneva Switzerland
    13. World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO): 1967, Geneva Switzerland
    14. World Meteorological Organization (WMO): 1873 (becomes UNOs SA on 1950) Geneva Switzerland
    15. World Tourism Organization (UNWTO): 1974, Madrid Spain
(Note: The oldest UNO's Specialized Agency is WMO)

UNO's Six Principal Organs:

  1. General Assembly: All the 193 Nations
  2. Security Council: 5 Permanent members and 10 Temporary member
  3. International Court of Justice: 15 members
  4. Economic and Social Council: 54 members (Africa 14, Asia 11, Latin America 10, West Europe and Other (Canada, Australia, New Zealand) 13, East Europe 6)
  5. Trusteeship Council: 
  6. Secretariate: Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General and other
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url

Subscribe Our YouTube Channel